The railroad track through Punkaharju was completed in 1906 and Bruno Granholm designed the station building. At the time, the station was known as the Punkaharju station, but nowadays it is called Lusto, after the Finnish Forest museum and information centre Lusto, which was established in 1994. This station house stands out from others built in the same era because of its grandeur. A picturesque wooden gazebo also stands by the station building.
During the summer months, various exhibitions are displayed at the old station.